Planning Applications Committee Agenda



1.30 pm Wednesday, 22 July 2020 via Microsoft Teams

In accordance with Local Authorities and Police and Crime Panels (Coronavirus) (Flexibility of Local Authority and Police and Crime Panel Meetings) (England and Wales) Regulations 2020, this meeting will be held on a virtual basis. Members of the Public can view a live stream of the meeting at:

https://www.darlington.gov.uk/livemeetings

Due to the changes made surrounding meetings during the Coronavirus pandemic, please note the following changes to the Planning Protocol:

- a. That the Applicant may attend but will not be permitted to make a presentation to Committee, and just be there to answer questions.
- b. That, following the publication of the Agenda/Reports, the Applicant and Supporters/Objectors may submit a statement in writing up to 1.30pm on the Tuesday prior to the meeting, which will either be circulated to Committee Members or read out by the Planning Officer at the meeting. Any statements should be submitted to the Planning Services Team, Room 401, Town Hall, Feethams, Darlington, DL1 5QT, or via email to planning@darlington.gov.uk
- c. That people may approach their Ward Members (who are allowed to attend the meeting) and request that they put their views to Committee.
- 1. Introductions/Attendance at Meeting
- 2. Appointment of Chair for the Municipal Year 2020/2021
- 3. Appointment of Vice-Chair for the Municipal Year 2020/2021
- To consider the times of meetings of this Committee for the Municipal Year 2020 / 2021 on the dates agreed in the Calendar of Meetings by Cabinet at Minute C104/Feb/2020
- 5. Declarations of Interest

- 6. To approve the Minutes of the Meeting of this Committee held on 4 March 2020 (Pages 1 10)
- 7. Introduction to Procedure by the Assistant Director, Law and Governance's Representative
- 8. Applications for Planning Permission and Other Consents under the Town and Country Planning Act and Associated Legislation (Pages 11 12)
 - (a) Haughton Road Service Station (Pages 13 26)
 - (b) Devonport, Middleton One Row (Pages 27 38)
 - (c) Building adjacent to 16 Station Terrace, Middleton St George (Pages 39 50)
 - (d) William House Nursery, Old Presbytery, Barton Street (Pages 51 64)
- 9. SUPPLEMENTARY ITEM(S) (if any) which in the opinion of the Chair of this Committee are of an urgent nature and can be discussed at this meeting
- 10. Questions

PART II

11. Notification of Decision on Appeals -

The Director of Economic Growth and Neighbourhood Services will report that, Inspectors, appointed by the Secretary of State for the Environment, have :-

Dismissed the appeal by Mr Bahadin Mohammed against this Authority's decision to refuse permission to vary Condition No. 4 of 18/01166/CU which states that: The hot food takeaway hereby approved shall not be open to customers outside the hours of 1200 to 2100 Monday to Saturday and 1200 to 2000 on a Sunday at 303 and 303A North Road, Darlington (18/01166/CU) (Copy of Inspector's decision letter attached)

Dismissed the appeal by Mr Alan Agar against this Authority's decision to refuse permission for outline application for the erection of 1 no. detached dwelling house at 22 Westacres, Middleton St George, Darlington DL2 1LJ (18/01119/OUT) (Copy of Inspector's decision letter attached)

Dismissed the appeal by Mrs Lisa Bentley against this Authority's decision to refuse consent for works to trees protected under Tree Preservation Order (No 6) 2010 - Pollarding of 3 No. Yew Trees up to 6m above ground level at Friary Cottage, 7 Church Lane, Middleton St George, Darlington DL2 1DD (19/00351/TF) (Copy of Inspector's decision letter attached)

RECOMMENDED – That the report be received. (Pages 65 - 76)

12. Notification of Appeals –

The Director of Economic Growth and Neighbourhood Services will report that :-

Number One Bar and Coffee House have appealed against this Authority's decision to refuse permission/consent for the formation of an external terrace area incorporating the partial removal of existing roof covering and internal alterations at Number One, 1 Skinnergate, Darlington DL3 7NB (19/00291/FUL and 19/00292/LBC)

Ross Waistell has appealed against this Authority's decision to refuse consent for felling of 1 No. Sycamore Tree (T14) protected under Group (G29) Tree Preservation Order (No.1) 1951 at 47 Blackwell Lane, Darlington DL3 8QF (20/00022/TF)

Mr Stephen Sanderson has appealed against this Authority's decision to refuse permission for outline application for erection of 5 no. dwellings (with all matters reserved) at Land North West of New Lane, New Lane, Neasham, Darlington DL2 1QR (19/00834/OUT)

Mr Tim Wilks has appealed against this Authority's decision to refuse permission for residential development comprising 2 No. dwellings and 1 No. studio on the lower ground level and associated parking and communal storage area (Resubmission) at Land Adjacent to 31 Pendower Street, Darlington (19/00695/FUL)

Mr S Chivers has appealed against this Authority's decision to refuse permission for an outline application for residential development comprising up 9 No. dwellings with all matters reserved except for means of access at land at Cobby Castle Lane, Bishopton (19/01191/OUT)

RECOMMENDED – That the report be received.

PART III

EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC AND PRESS

13. To consider the Exclusion of the Public and Press –

RECOMMENDED - That, pursuant to Sections 100B(5) of the Local Government Act 1972, the public be excluded from the meeting during the consideration of the ensuing item on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in exclusion paragraph 7 of Part I of Schedule 12A of the Act.

- Complaints Received and Being Considered Under the Council's Approved Code of Practice as of 8 July 2020 (Exclusion Paragraph No. 7) – Report of Director of Economic Growth and Neighbourhood Services (Pages 77 - 86)
- 15. SUPPLEMENTARY ITEM(S) (IF ANY) which in the opinion of the Chair of this

Committee are of an urgent nature and can be discussed at this meeting

16. Questions

Luke Swinhoe
Assistant Director Law and Governance

The Sinha

Tuesday, 14 July 2020

Town Hall Darlington.

Membership

Councillors Allen, Clarke, Cossins, Heslop, C L B Hughes, Johnson, Mrs D Jones, Keir, Lee, Lister, Marshall, McCollom, Tait, Tostevin and Wallis.

If you need this information in a different language or format or you have any other queries on this Agenda, please contact Paul Dalton, Elections Officer, Resources Group, during normal office hours 8.30 a.m. to 4.45 p.m. Mondays to Thursdays and 8.30 a.m. to 4.15 p.m. Fridays. E-Mail: paul.dalton@darlington.gov.uk or telephone 01325 405805